top of page

Canadian Contributions

Canadian Contributions to ISPRS

Canada has played a significant role in the ISP/ISPRS over the past several decades.

Examples of Canadian Contributions to the ISP/ISPRS include:

  • Ottawa was the host city for the XII Congress in 1972.

  • Technical Commission Symposia were held in 1974, 1978, 1982, 1986, 1990, 1994, 2002, 2010 and 2014.

  • In addition, several other ISPRS workshops and symposia have been hosted across the country.

  • Prominent Canadian researchers have held the presidency of five ISPRS Technical Commissions and other senior ISPRS leadership roles between 1972 and 2022:

Image by NASA

A large number of WG officers
(10 are currently serving 2016-2022)

  • Dr. Songnian Li, ISPRS Treasurer: 2016-2022

  • Dr. Ahmed Shaker, Vice-President Commission III: 2016-2022

  • Dr. Suzana Dragicevic, Vice-President Commission IV: 2016-2021

  • Dr. Derek Lichti, Editor-in-Chief, ISPRS Journal of Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing: 2013-2020

  • Dr. Songnian Li, President Commission II: 2012-2016

  • Dr. Suzana Dragicevic, Vice-President Commission II: 2012-2016

  • Dr. Naser El-Sheimy, President Commission I: 2008-2012

  • Dr. Costas Armenakis, President Commission IV: 2000-2004

  • Dr. Mosaad Allam, President Commission II: 1992-1996

  • Mr. Frank Hegyi, President Commission VII: 1988-1992

  • Dr. Vlad Kratky, President Commission V: 1984-1988

  • Dr. George Zarzycki, 1st Vice President of ISPRS: 1980-1988

  • Dr. Zarko Jaksic, President Commission II: 1980-1984

  • Dr. George Zarzycki, President Commission IV: 1976-1980

  • Dr. Leo Sayn-Wittgenstein, President Commission VII:

  • Dr. Samuel G. Gamble, President ISP: 1972-1976

bottom of page